Eats: The Fish Shack

Have I ever told you that I have a thing for oysters?  Raw oysters are even better.  I could eat two dozen raw oysters by myself and still feel amazing – and be the happy as a clam.  (I really should not make seafood jokes…).  The only thing I dislike about oysters would be the price.  Regular price oysters cost around $3 a pop – and with my oyster eating habits, that is nothing to scoff at.

the-fish-shack

Enter The Fish Shack on Granville.  Fish Shack is one of many restaurants that are a part of the Glowbal Group. (For you non-Vancouverites, this is a umbrella company that owns several restaurants.  Not to be mistaken for a chain of restaurants or franchise.)  Fish Shack has this amazing deal called a ‘buck-a-shuck’, which happens every day from open until 6pm.  However, we Vancouverites need to remember that there is also Happy Hour from 3 – 6pm, which means discounted appys and drinks.  This is a seafood lovers paradise.

FishShack-Oysters

From their very much beloved Buck-A-Shuck to their delicious appetizers and drinks.  Fish Shack has a laid back atmosphere.  Crates and  fishing ropes line the walls given a comfortable vibe that is reminiscent of sitting on the wharf while fishing boats come in.  The restaurant has two floors – perfect to host parties at or just sit back and enjoy with friends.

Well, since I mentioned that I loved oysters, I should also mention that I adore Caesars.  They’re my jam!  I will constantly be on the hunt for an amazing Caesar.  Find me a good, spicy Caesar and I’m sold.  Fish shack has four different types to choose from – from the traditional ‘Fish Shack’s Very Own’ to ‘Red Sky in the Morning’, which uses tequila as opposed to the usual vodka.

FishShack-Caesar     Fish Shack Caesar Menu

As for food, if you like seafood you can’t go wrong, from the seafood salad to the fish and chips.  Check in with yelp, show your server and you’ll receive a complimentary appetizer (clam chowder in miniature sourdough bowls in my case) or dessert.  If you opt for dessert, please don’t go anywhere without trying their decadent and heavenly butter toffee cake.  It is to die for – and I swear it uses a pound of butter and sugar but it is fantastic.

FishShack-FishTacos

FishShack-Salad

Servers are friendly and laid back.  The casual atmosphere makes it feel like your hanging out at the pier in a cozy local spot with friends.  However, it’s tidy enough to feel just one notch up of casual.  Love this place for a good happy hour or a table full of oysters.

For a full menu, as well as to check out the atmosphere, visit their website: The Fish Shack (Menu)

Ratings:
Food: 7.5/10 – the oysters are an 8.5
Service: 7.5/10
Atmosphere: 8/10
Originality: 8/10
Overall: 8/10

Location:
1026 Granville St.
Vancouver B.C. V6Z 1L5

Hours:
Monday – Friday 11:30am – 12:00am
Saturday – Sunday 10:30am – 12:00am

 

Until next time,
xo Chanel

Leave a Reply

