Recipe: Tuna Cake Patties (Clean Eating)

With a month and a half before Christmas, it seems to be a ‘thing’ to go on a month long diet.  That being said, it fascinates me how much those around you influence your actions.  One of my coworkers has recently embarked on a “whole 30” way of eating – ie she is determined to eat clean until the end of the month.  What does that mean?  Only whole foods without grains, wheat, dairy… It made me start thinking about my personal eating habits and what I should be eating.  I came home today craving something a little healthier.

Tuna Cakes/Patties (Clean Eating)

The bus ride home lead me to a major Pinterest search for inspiration.  I looked up ‘Clean Eating’ and came up with a dozen recipes that looked good and healthy.  From that, I came across a variation of these delicious bites.  I had everything I needed in my kitchen and it was easy to make.  I made a few adjustments and came up with my personal take on ‘Tuna Cakes/Patties’.

These little patties taste somewhat like crab cakes when still warm.  I have a weak spot for crab cakes but somehow these seem a lot healthier as they are tuna-based rather than crab and shellfish.  My recipe gave me about 15 mini patties.  I personally like the taste of frying in a bit of extra-virgin olive oil, but feel free to swap this out for coconut oil or any other ‘healthy oil’ that you prefer.  Enjoy!

Tuna Patty Ingredients

What you’ll need
A large mixing bowl and a small mixing bowl
A fork
A tablespoon
Chopping board and knife

Ingredients
3 cans of tuna (in water), no salt added, with all the water drained
3 large eggs (or 4 small ones)
1-2 tablespoons lemon juice (optional – my first batch didn’t need this as it already had too much liquid)
1/2 cup chopped red onion
1 tsp dried parsley
1/2 tsp dried dill
1/2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp sea salt/pink himalayan salt
Oil for cooking

*dried herbs are better than fresh as they absorb some of the water and allow the patties to hold together better.

Directions
Drain the tuna of all water – this is very important or your patties won’t stick together. Break tuna into flakes/small bits and stir in diced/chopped red onions. Mix in all dry ingredients.

Break the eggs into a small bowl, whisk with a fork. Add egg into tuna mixture and fold until tuna mixture is saturated in egg. If mixture is still too wet, add more dill, parsley, basil or garlic powder to taste.
Create small patties from 1 large heaping tablespoon of tuna with your hands. Patty balls should be about 1-1/2 inch to 2 inches in diameter.

Heat pan, pour in oil (enough to coat the bottom of the pan) and place round patties into hot pan. Cook on medium to low heat. Brown lightly before flattening the into a flat patty. Brown lightly and flip. Brown each side.
Serve while still warm – though these taste great the next day as well.

Tuna Cakes/Patties in the Pan

Note: If you’re not looking for a ‘clean eat’ recipe, feel free to add fine bread crumbs to the tuna mix to make the patties stick together better or add a cheese (such as parmesan) for some extra flavour. Another way would to be serve these with an aioli or tzatziki sauce.

As always, if you try this recipe out, please comment below with pictures or post them to social media with the hashtag #cocomechanelrecipe. I would love to see recreations or suggestions!

Until next time,
xo Chanel

One thought on “Recipe: Tuna Cake Patties (Clean Eating)

Leave a Reply

