Eats: Aki Sushi

I love sushi.  It’s a bit of a problem. It is definitely my favourite food.  I was in heaven when I went to Japan last year and ate sushi at every given chance.  Coming back to Vancouver put me into withdrawal. Vancouver has fantastic sushi.  In comparison to what I experienced in Japan, it is pretty close.  Luckily enough while I was recovering from jet lag and sushi withdrawal, I stumbled upon this gem of a sushi restaurant in Downtown Vancouver.

Aki Sushi is located on West Pender Street between Jervis and Broughton.  It’s an average sized restaurant with a simple layout, including a sushi bar.  The restaurant itself is clean and the staff are friendly.

My friend Amy and I both ordered the Chirashi Sushi, which is an assortment of sashimi, prawns, baked egg on a bowl of seasoned rice. It also has seaweed and fish roe (tobiko & ikura). I also ordered a Melon soda – wondering if it would taste anything like the popular flavoured drinks from my trip to Tokyo.  The chirashi don was fantastic; fresh and filling.  The soda was a bright shade of green and a bit on the sweet side – not exactly what I had expected – and pretty much similar to what I remember it tasting like in Japan.

chirashi sushi from aki sushi

I’ve been back several time since my first visit, for more sushi, with friends.  I’ve only heard good things about the food there.  So if you’re looking for something a step further out of the busy downtown Robson area, and have an affinity for sushi or sashimi, I highly recommend visiting Aki Sushi.

The following picture is of a few of their other rolls – things that my friends and I have ordered before.

IMG_6481

Aki Sushi Restaurant
1368 W. Pender St.
Lunch Hours: M-Fri 11:30 am to 2:00 pm
Dinner Hours: M-Thurs 5:30 pm to 10:30 pm
Fri & Sat 5:30 pm to 11:00 pm
Sun & Holidays 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Ratings:
Food: 7.5/10
Service: 7/10
Atmosphere: 7.5/10
Overall: 7.5/10

Until next time,

xo Chanel

P.S.: I know this post lacks photos, I will be going back to take more pictures (and eat) soon.

Leave a Reply

