Eats: Hing Fung Restaurant

I would like to consider myself to be an expert on Chinese food.  After all, I am Chinese and was raised eating Grandma’s (Yin yin) homemade food.  I still start to salivate just thinking about all the things she cooked for me growing up.  Richmond has about as many restaurants as Vancouver if not more.  So when my parents started raving about how good the food was (and the value), I knew we had to try it out again.  I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with the food and amazing service at this modestly sized restaurant in Richmond, BC.

IMG_6439

Hing Fung is family owned and the owner’s wife, Annie Lau, is amazing.  I don’t know whether to be surprised or not, but she remembered my grandma from somewhere.  Her daughter was our server and gave us amazing customer service.  The restaurant itself is modestly sized and offers a wide variety of food.  Now, when I  said I was an expert on Chinese food, I have never seen such generous portions (that taste so good) for such a reasonable price.

Lobster in Cream Sauce over rice

Lobster in Cream Sauce over rice

As my parents had tried it before, we ordered the lobster combo.  Having only six people at our table, we decided that the lobster made with cream sauce over sticky rice just wasn’t enough food (one order is two full lobsters).  We also ordered, honey garlic spare ribs (which had an incredible amount of meat on them for a spare rib), green beans with minced pork and halibut with ginger and green onions.

Halibut with Garlic and Green Onion

Halibut with Garlic and Green Onion

The honey garlic spare ribs are some of the best I have ever had – grandma’s will always be better and I wish she had taught me how to make hers.  The halibut was surprisingly good as it was served crispy – we even ordered a full order for take out to bring to my grandpa on my mom’s side.  As for the green beans with minced, thankfully they weren’t overly salty as they generally are.  The star of the meal was truly the lobster though.  Two full lobsters battered and then coated in cream sauce all served over a bed of sticky rice.  Can you say “yum“?  I would go back just for this – but I cannot stress how good the service was for an English speaking Chinese person as myself.

Green Beans with Minced Pork

Green Beans with Minced Pork

Honey Garlic Spare Ribs

Honey Garlic Spare Ribs – partially eaten

Needless to say, we didn’t finish all the food but we came pretty close to it.  Each person was given tea and we also asked for cold water.  As per traditional Chinese restaurants, after eating the lobster, plates were cleared and replaced so that shells didn’t get in the way of eating more food.

At the end of the meal, we were asked if we wanted dessert.  Dessert consisted of the traditional Chinese red bean soup.  Yummy.  It wasn’t too sweet – and I almost wish it was a bit sweeter – but it was good. All of that and we payed less than $20 per person including tip.  They also had free wifi for customers – which helped me upload the pictures you’ve seen throughout this blog post.

In summary, great food, amazing customer service and a clean, pleasant atmosphere in a good Chinese restaurant in Richmond.  I will be back for more in the near future.  As a side note, I believe this restaurant is Cash Only.

Hing Fung Restaurant is located behind the Canadian Tire / Yohan in Richmond at
#1226 – 8338 Capstan Way
Richmond, BC
Hours: 11am – 11pm daily.

Ratings:
Food: 9/10
Service: 8/10
Atmosphere: 7/10
Overall: 8/10

Until next time,

xo Chanel

Leave a Reply

